squidhat, originally uploaded by bnnymama.

Appropriate acrylic. It’s not an oxymoron, I swear! Just check this out.

I made this hat for a birth announcement for my younger daughter (it said Cthulu ate my Baby!)… I think she outgrew it during the photo session. Yep, it’s Red Heart and I don’t regret it for a second.

Hmmm what about fun fur? Certainly not my thing, but I am here to tell you that if a mass of it works its way into your stash (I had a skein leftover from an ipod cover I made back in 2003) you can turn it into a fab boa for the toddler in your life. You’ll make his or her mama happy too, they are washable and they don’t shed brightly dyed (sometimes not colorsafe dye my carpet steamer and I are here to tell you) feathers all over the house.

That said I took advantage of the rare opportunity when both of my babes were napping at the same time yesterday to clean out my craft closet. I tossed a bunch of crappy yarn into the donation pile and made an inventory and list of the projects I need to complete before I buy any new yarn (I’ll share it soon). I’m really excited. I feel like this is the end result of reaching a new level in my knitting.  I want to take on meaningful projects this year and work with materials that match my work . For me, it’s becoming more about the thought going into the project (especially into the materials) and the resulting garment and not just working to learn a technique or develop a new skill… it’s going to be an interesting year.

Leave a Reply

