That 70’s Purse

Has been mailed off as a birthday gift for a friend. It’s the second time I’ve made this pattern (I used the same big ball of Lion Kitchen cotton in neutral to make them both), and I would make it again. I can’t say that about many patterns, but this one is very satisfying. The knitting isn’t boring and the end product is a really sturdy, polished looking fabric.

The first one I made as a gift for one of my cousins, I used a pair of round bamboo handles the same color as these. I found them in my craft basket and really just wanted to get rid of them. But then I loved the way they looked with the bag… it rubbed the 70’s funk off of them and just made them seem cool. So I sought out similar handles for this bag.

I’m not a big fan of 1970’s decor, but my house was built in 1970 and I’m trying to work with it. I found these placemats at the Crate and Barrel Outlet for $1 sometime ago. I love them too. I don’t have any love though (and refuse to hunt down a picture) for the set of bamboo handled cutlery my parents had in the ’70’s.  An eraser the size of Texas couldn’t rub the funk off of those things. I’m certain it was the exact size and shade of bamboo as these handles (I think my Dad bought them as a gift for my mom in Thailand when he was on his way home from Vietnam … either that or she got them on sale at Gemco).

Ahhh onemore thing off the list, next post I’ll share my revisions with you. And maybe some pictures (if I’m lucky I’ll get natural light next time).

Leave a Reply

