Mama loves to knit

It’s been a heck of a week around this hutch. Little bunny, who cut two teeth a couple of weeks ago has made the transition from nursing to bottle. Me, I’m delighted but the big surge of hormones that accompanies the transition has made me weepy… I can’t believe how fast my baby is growing up!!!! And Big sister bunny has been a dream, is it possible she’s over the terrible twos? Pinch me.

I dayream sometimes about what it will be like when the bunnies are both old enough to not require 99.9% of my attention. Man will I be able to knit a lot then! Actually I’m able to accomplish quite a bit of knitting during naptimes, periods when my husband is watching the girls, and when I can sneak it in while waiting for the bank teller, watching at the playground, or after bedtime. But I have to be honest I’ve had to really adapt my knitting style in order to be able to knit during this period of my kids’ lives and I do look forward to their gaining some independence and getting back to my old approach.

I know I am in the knitting minority but I like to work one project at a time. And (gasp) I dont like having much of a stash. I’m more of a see the pattern, fall in love, buy the yarn,knit the project kind of gal. But I learned pretty quick that it’s easier to knit with kids if you have a few different projects on the needles to suit your knitting needs. I like to keep something mindless in the car… usually a simple pair of socks, but right now it’s the circular baby blanket (which is probably a bit too big but whatever… I need to finish it and it’s mindless), that way I can work a few stitches when I’m at the drive up teller, and I’ve got it if free time at the park makes itself available. I keep something of medium difficulty on my kitchen counter, next to my laptop… right nowit’s a secret scare-isle hat I’ve designed (sorry I can’t talk much about it). I can supervise the girls from this spot and can often sneak in a few rows here and there. I save pattern reading and lace for times when the bunnies are asleep or out of my care. Right now that means the Sunrise Circle (which is almost done, woo hoo). Sometimes, when hauling a project around gets tiresome or I’ve caught the start-it bug, I’ll even work one of those upstairs lying in bed and and one downstairs, where our TV is located. It works but sometimes I really wish I could just sit down on a rainy Saturday afternoon with a cup of coffee and hours to devote to a project. And if I’m patient (and a little lucky)in a few years I’ll be able have an afternoon like that, sitting on the couch knitting , with two little bunnies by my side.

Leave a Reply

